Chapter 7: A New Year: Health, wealth & happiness?

Well according to the wonderful WordPress people (at least the analytics set up on the site…) my last post was August 3 2014. In other words, five months ago.

So where have I been? What have I been doing?

Health issues to the fore
Well it all started on August 16. That’s when I came down with bronchitis – something that seems to be an annual event. Of course at first I just thought it was some flu-type virus. One moment I was cheering my son on at a cross-country event, all seemingly fine. Next moment, I’m feeling like I just want to sleep. And sleep I did, most of that weekend.

I thought that was the end of the matter, but not so. On Monday I went to the airport to board a flight to Melbourne. The flight was delayed, and I was in two minds about whether it was a good idea to fly. At the last moment I decided no, it wasn’t a smart idea to fly. Fortunately I had some very forgiving clients and an understanding boss.

The first trip to the local doctor was less than successful. She also seemed to think it was a flu-type virus. But when the pills weren’t working, the wife suggested it was time to go to the ‘guru’ – a doctor my wife swore by. And certainly when the ‘guru’ was our local doctor – before she moved away – she successfully diagnosed two bouts of pneumonia – something her colleagues missed on each first attempt at diagnosis.

Fortunately, we had since moved and were now much closer to where the ‘guru’ had set up her new practice. Straight away, she pretty much concluded that it was a bronchitis and put in place all the tests – blood tests, X-rays etc – to confirm the diagnosis.

The bottom-line being that she was indeed right.

But the recovery took some time. And as a result, it was a bit of a stop-start journey in terms of getting some running under the belt – or for that matter, exercise of any description.

Some curve balls
And all those tests threw a few curve balls. The guru though it was a good idea to do a few extra blood tests since I hadn’t really hadn’t been in to see a doctor for a while. She also had a few concerns about some scars and lumps on my skin that was worthy of consideration.

So after going in with a bout of bronchitis, I came out with a few things to think about. And indeed the results have proved interesting, to say the least. For instance, apparently my iron levels were on the high side. I would have though this was OK, since many people – especially women – struggle with low iron levels.

But as it turns out my ancestors have something to answer for. Apparently it is called Haemochromatosis (or inherited iron overload disorder). And apparently one of the best ways to deal with it…is to give blood. That is a story in itself.

And now for the skin issues. That meant a trip to the dermatologist. And the ‘guru of skin’ advised that I have had my dose of sun for my lifetime – now it was time to cover up.

Still, nothing of note was found. She applied the freezing gun to a few lesions, and diagnosed some lotion to deal with some other lesions. So nothing of note in terms of skin issues, but I have been put on notice.

Not all blood is the same
As mentioned, apparently one way of dealing what is now termed a ‘blood disorder’ is to give blood. Sounds simple enough. And a good thing to do. So I fronted the blood collection centre and filled out all the paperwork.

It all seemed straight forward, and then in the interview process I raised the fact that the key reason I was there to give blood was because that it what the doctors suggested.

Well the nurse put the clipboard and pen down and announced that this was a whole different ball game – or words to that effect. Seems that the doctor has to fill out some paperwork of her own. And only after that, the process may start again.

Well it was with some trepidation that I fronted the blood collection centre in the first place. And I may say that in some ways I was relieved. And also in some ways disappointed.

But it made sense. The blood collection people need to know how high my iron levels are. And then there has to be some schedule set up of visits and the amount of blood to be collected.

The blood collection drama – well hardly a drama, more an event – well, the blood collection event was only last week so there will be more to report on this later.

Running happy
This chapter has been entitled “Health, wealth & happiness”. Well the ‘health’ is largely self-explanatory. What about the ‘wealth’ and ‘happiness’.?

Well, actually when it comes to the running, health has been to the fore in a positive way – I have been largely injury free. No heel spurs, no aches or pains. (Well, that was the case when I started writing this Chapter. There has since been a recurring pain on the arch of the foot – I’m told plantar something-or-other, but nothing of note).

But overall, running – and exercise overall – have been strangely OK. Perhaps that’s because the other health issues have held me back a bit from exercise/training and the rest has done me good. Perhaps.

But when you are doing a bit of exercise without any major injuries…well, you tend to be happy. And that has been very important. Because for some time, running has been less enjoyment and more of a chore. Simply, I haven’t enjoyed going out for a run.

How did it happen? Well, I’m not too sure. But I think it all came down to frustration – especially frustration about going for a run and…stopping. Not completing what I set out to achieve. Just a 20-minute run or 30-minute run. And couldn’t do it. And increasingly frustrated.

But one day, it came to me. Pull back a bit. Run more conservatively. Smell the roses. And it worked. Just mixing things up and setting smaller, more achievable goals.

And mixing it up has been important. A longer run one day; weights the next; faster runs on the road, like one minute fast, one minute recovery; and sprints of 70-80% top speed on a local football field.

More recently, I have toyed with a new running technique or philosophy. But more on that later.

And wealth?
Now some of you may think that the title was chosen because it was catchy and familiar: Health, wealth & happiness. And ‘health’ has been defined. As has ‘happiness’. So where does the ‘wealth’ come in? Have I won lotto? Been given a pay rise? Come into an inheritance?

No, a different sort of wealth. From mid December and into January there has been less travel. So, overall, work has been more formulaic. And I’ve felt more settled in my newish digs. More used to new surroundings.

But that’s not the wealth either. It has been the fact that my daughter has passed her subjects at college. And my son has passed his exams at uni. And my younger son is headed in to his final year of school. And my wife is making progress with her painful illness.

So yes, there has been ‘wealth’ as well as the health and happiness. Wealth is what you have, so I’m very wealthy.

So what about the running goals?
I suppose the great realisation has been in recent weeks that there is a lot more to do. And so little time to the NSW Championships in February and Australian Championships.

I have started compiling my running times – but that is probably something for the next post. But suffice it to say, there is still scope for improvement. I am hopeful, especially as I’m toying with a new approach to running. It may hold some secrets. But the simple fact is that timing is running out on achieving great things in the short-term.

There have been circumstances, sure, but everyone has those.

That’s not to saying I’m giving up on the goals – to be fitter, faster and more competitive with my peers. Health is good. Fitness is getting there. But more has to be done – more training sessions need to be completed – and more structure and discipline need to be applied. I suppose that is always the case. But the journey has by no means ended.

 

Leave a comment